Match Report
Dartford Grammar School 1st XV vs  Cranbrook School
On: Saturday, 05 Nov 2005
Venue: at Home


Another win for Dartford, though the Dartford boys left the pitch with their heads down after an unconvincing performance. Cran
ook were a very Forward-orientated team with some big lads in their pack. Despite this the Dartford pack were the dominant one for large periods of the game. One positive that can come from the game other than getting a win, is that Dartford hardly missed any tackles if any for the whole match, Cran
ook struggled to break them down and often resorted to kicking in order to make yards.

Dartford started well and were much the better team in the first 15 mins, constant attacking pressure from Dartford's driving forwards led to a penalty which Mike McDonough converted. Dartford increased the lead after spotting a lack of defence on the blindside of a ruck 10 metres from the Cran
ook try-line; the ball was put through two pairs of hands to put Sean Oluwole in at the corner. As Dartford began to tire in the first half they started to give away silly penalties which allowed Cran
ook to get attacking field position in the Dartford 22m, continuous pick and goes from the forwards meant Cran
ook gradually made their way forwards to score out wide, 8-5 at halftime.

The second half saw another bright start for Dartford and an increased lead after Mike McDonough slotted over another penalty. This was followed by a bad spell for Dartford conceding needless penalties and making unforced errors. In this period Cran
ook converted three penalties to lead 14-11. In the last 5 mins of the game Dartford had their work cut out and got a kickable penalty. It was decided to take a risk and kick for the corner. Cran
ook stopped Dartford's first attempt, but an infringement meant Dartford had another chance with a scrum 5 metres out. Mike McDonough ran down the blindside and fed Oluwole to score his second try of the game in the corner with 1 minute to spare.

Final score: Dartford GS 16-14 Cran

DGS 1stXV selection:

1)D McCarthy (vc)
2)L Pearson
3)H Saunders
4)L Sheaf
5)S Birleson
6)D Garret
7)O Augustin
8)S Jefferies
9)M McDonough
10)B Moore
11)A Oyekan
12)P Clarke
13)J Bowmer (c)
14)S Oluwole
15)D Castle