Match Report
The Southport School 1st XV vs  St Joseph's Nudgee College, Brisbane
On: Saturday, 20 Jul 2019
Venue: at Home

1st XV TSS 21 – NC 20

Nudgee kicked off and TSS made a positive start with a number of phase plays. However things turned around when Nudgee gained a penalty which resulted in them scoring and converting. Not long after, Hamish Roberts fielded a Nudgee kick and did a return chip, regathered and passed which finally resulted in Luc Lyndon scoring and Hamish converted as he did a penalty not long after, so the score became 10-7.

Nudgee missed a penalty attempt and later a deft grubber kick from Dion Samuela gave Hamish a great chase and he managed to score in the corner however he missed the conversion. Nudgee later pinched the ball at our lineout in our 22 and pick and drives eventually lead to them scoring near the posts with an easy conversion right on half time, therefore 15-14.

Within the first twenty minutes at least three opportunities to score were lost within 15 metres of the try line. Combined with quite a few penalties there was frustration and a rush to try and score. A penalty to Nudgee took the pressure from them and was followed by another penalty near the 22 which they converted. Hamish kicked an easy penalty in front of the posts to nudge the team in front 18-17.

With seven minutes to go Nudgee made a break down the field, eventually a turn-over is gained and Dion has a great clearing kick, however Nudgee then return into the 22, gain a penalty and convert. With little time left our kick-off is regained and tension filled pick and drives finally result in a penalty to TSS about 35 metres out and 10 metres in from the sideline. Hamish thought, no problem, and converts it much to everyone’s relief and then celebration.

Well done to the forwards who were dominate in the set piece and George Blake and Michael van der Schyff who worked so well to secure the Nudgee kick-offs. Congratulations to our eight run on debutantes, what a game to remember.

Coaches’ points went to Hamish Roberts 1, Marlon Jones 2, Zane Nonggorr 3, with honourable mentions to Wilson Blyth, Luc Lyndon and Michael van der Schyff.